Haedar Nashir Pushes for Cooperation between Muhammadiyah and Turkey

November 27, 2019 by : BHP UMY

Muhammadiyah paid a visit to Turkey on Monday (11/25) by accepting an invitation from President Yurtdışı Türkler Ve Akraba Topluluklar Başkanlığı (YTB), Abdullah Eren. On this extraordinary occasion, the Chairman of the Central Board (PP) of Muhammadiyah, Dr. H. Haedar Nashir, M.SI. introduced Muhammadiyah and reminded the president of an established and sustainable partnership between Indonesia and Turkey.

Haedar also reminded the president that relations between Indonesia and Turkey have been established since the 13th century and must be strengthened and continued, especially in the aspect of education. “People must be part of civilization,” he told Indonesian citizens who were in Turkey during the meeting.

This activity is one of the programs entitled “Muhammadiyah Visit Turkey” conducted by the Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia to Turkey, Dr. Lalu Muhammad Iqbal who is also an Alumnus of Universitas Muhammadiyah Yogyakarta (UMY). Lalu mentioned that the main supporter of relations between Indonesia and Turkey came from citizens, including members of Muhammadiyah.

YTB President Abdullah Eren stated that Indonesia and Turkey have very good historical blood ties, in addition to the bonds of culture and religion. In addition to holding meetings, this activity included a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) which was signed regarding scholarships for Muhammadiyah cadres to continue their studies in Turkey.

The group from Muhammadiyah also included the Secretary of the Muhammadiyah Central Board Dr. Agung Danarto, THe Head and Secretary of the Higher Education and Research Development Council, Prof. Lincolin Arsyad, Ph.D; and Muhammad Sayuti, Ph.D.

In addition, there were also 12 Rectors from Muhammadiyah Universities (PTM), including: Universitas Muhammadiyah Yogyakarta, Universitas Ahmad Dahlan Yogyakarta, Universitas Muhammadiyah Prof. Dr. HAMKA-Jakarta, Universitas Muhammadiyah Surabaya, Universitas Muhammadiyah Purwokerto, Universitas Muhammadiyah Semarang, Universitas Muhammadiyah Riau, Universitas Muhammadiyah Makassar, Universitas Muhammadiyah Sidoarjo, Universitas Muhammadiyah Palembang, Universitas Muhammadiyah Kupang and Universitas Muhammadiyah Kalimantan Timur. (ak)